You are currently viewing ELVENKING – “Reader of the Runes – Rapture” (album review)

ELVENKING – “Reader of the Runes – Rapture” (album review)

The Italian power/folk metallers Elvenking, with the new 11th album “Reader of the Runes – Rapture”, which is the second part of the trilogy, after 2019’s “Reader of the Runes – Divination”, present consistent compositions with the new album to be “heavier” than what they have released.
It is based on the dynamics of power metal, remaining in the folk aesthetic.
The elves are dressed in their war gear and appear more epic than ever.
Many times the happy music contrasts with the lyrics that carry a lot of pain.
We listen to tracks that have depth. They are structured beautifully without tiring but also without sounding incomplete. Everything has its own story but it is in the light of the concept.
The strong point of “Reader of the Runes – Rapture” is the guitars, sometimes with power riffs and solos and sometimes melodic, they sound amazing.
Also, apart from the beautiful clear vocals, the deeper ones that appear in some tracks are also very fitting.
“Bride of Night” which was the last single before the release of the album is the hit.
“The Cursed Cavalier” with its nice riff and refrain stands out.
“Rapture” also with all the elements of the album on display, epic, heavy, folk and melodic.
The almost 55 minutes of “Reader of the Runes – Rapture” are not only enjoyable but also interesting.
Anyone who likes power/folk sounds will enjoy an album that after a few listens they will love.

Spyros Tribos

Label: AFM Records

“Reader of the Runes – Rapture” tracklist:
1. Rapture 06:20
2. The Hanging Tree 04:27
3. Bride of Night 03:50
4. Herdchant 05:17
5. The Cursed Cavalier 03:51
6. To the North 05:38
7. Covenant 04:49
8. Red Mist 05:07
9. Incantations 05:38
10. An Autumn Reverie 04:11
11. The Repentant 05:35
total 54:43

Aydan Guitars, Vocals (backing), Keyboards
Damna Vocals (lead)
Lethien Violin
Jakob Bass
Symohn Drums
HeadMatt Guitars

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Reviews
  • Reading time:2 mins read