You are currently viewing VOMITORY – “All Heads Are Gonna Roll” album review

VOMITORY – “All Heads Are Gonna Roll” album review

The band, since the mid-90s, offered us albums of pure Swedish death metal, of a different temperament to other great bands from its country of origin, because it cast several glances at Florida, returns after twelve years, with an album that will break bones. After their establishment in 1989, with their first album “Raped in Their Own Blood” in 1996, Vomitory had a continuous and successful recording presence until 2013 when it was announced that they disbanded. Their last album was 2011’s “Opus Mortis VIII”. In 2017 the reunion was announced and six years later we finally have new material. “All Heads Are Gonna Roll” comes at a time when death metal is at its best, and Vomitory seem to be seizing the opportunity, with the band’s older friends reuniting and for the younger ones to get to know them. All this is a consequence of the quality of the new album which sows terror and reaps hell. Straight without introductions and unnecessary tracks, we get into the meaning of brutality from the first self-titled track “All Heads Are Gonna Roll”. Raw, simply violent death metal where Sweden’s Vomitory bring the bloodshed to their compositions. Simple, understandable but at the same time intelligent. “Decrowned” the second track emerges together with the previous one, let’s take a look at what is happening. “Ode to the Meat Saw” one of the best tracks on the album. Riff and give until the neck breaks. “The Deepest Tomb” and here the tempo picks up with a nice rhythmic bridge and riff that stays. “Piece by Stinking Piece” pure death metal track. “Raped, Strangled, Sodomized, Dead” imposing track and reason for rhythm as well as lyrics. Among the slower related tracks as a whole is “Dead Man Stalking” with a nice riff. “Disciples of the Damned” comes with a stormy rhythm and the most satanic track of the record. “Dead World” typical death metal track. “Beg for Death” last track of the album and the most complete has all the elements. Introduction, moderate tempo with slow passages and faster bursts. Vomitory after twelve years, with “All Heads Are Gonna Roll” it is not that they paid off all those years of their absence, but they declare the present and certainly lay a very good foundation for their future course.

Spyros Tribos

“All Heads Are Gonna Roll” trcklist:

1. All Heads Are Gonna Roll 03:27
2. Decrowned 03:27
3. Ode to the Meat Saw 04:44
4. The Deepest Tomb 04:28
5. Piece by Stinking Piece 03:23
6. Raped, Strangled, Sodomized, Dead 03:19
7. Dead Man Stalking 04:48
8. Disciples of the Damned 03:29
9. Dead World 04:06
10. Beg for Death 05:34
total 40:45

“All Heads Are Gonna Roll” lineup:

Tobias Gustafsson Drums
Urban Gustafsson Guitars
Erik Rundqvist Bass, Vocals
Peter Östlund Guitars

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Reviews
  • Reading time:3 mins read